I am posting my reply to Manoy Resti aka arpeegee sent to his Nabua Forum inbox for everybody's reference:------------------------------------------------
Dear Manoy Resti,
It is good to hear that your organization understands why the members of this website reacted upon hearing that a conference with the same name as this forum is being organized without their knowledge. I think that it is not very surprising that people also wondered why Mr. Estadilla informed or emailed individual members of this website, instead of just logging in and sending an invitation for everyone, including myself, to read. Anyway, I find it even more strange that organizers of your conference registered the domain name
www.nabuaforum.org... Please tell me if you honestly think that there is nothing wrong with this move? I insist that this creates nothing but confusion, and some even can argue that this is a kind of identity poaching. I already emailed Mr. Estadilla about this issue, he has not replied yet, but for your reference I am pasting here the copy of the letter I sent him this morning:
--------------------------------------------------------
Manoy Ralph,
I just noticed today that you have registered the nabua conference under the domain name
www.nabuaforum.org. I just thought that it is just an issue of ethics to do so. I have been raising funds for paying nabua forum's web hosting and last week, i finally received pledges from the users of the nabua forum which would pay for this year's web hosting. part of the plan was to purchase the domain
www.nabuaforum.org.may i ask if i can buy that domain from you. because obviously, having double names will only create confusion and conflict.
Dada Docot
Kultura Volunteers
Tokyo, Japan
---------------------------------------------------------
About the letter you sent me, may I ask you to please post it under the same discussion thread entitled "Re:2008 Nabua Forum"
Link:
CLICK hereThank you very much.
Regards,
Dada
Post edited by: sinapot, at: 2008/03/16 17:34